Structural Acoustics and Vibration Technical Committee

Open Meeting 175th ASA Meeting in Minneapolis, Minnesota 8 May 2018 7:30 p.m. Greenway C

Agenda

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Minneapolis Meeting Agenda (additions or other modifications)
- 3. Approval of the 174th ASA Meeting Minutes from New Orleans, Louisiana

Meetings

4. 174th Meeting, New Orleans, Louisiana, 4-8 December 2017 Joel Mobley, Chair, Natalia Sidorovskaya, Technical Chair

Winners of The Best Paper Awards for Students and Young Presenters for SAVTC at the 174th ASA Meeting in New Orleans, LA:

1st Place

Stephanie G. Konarski, University of Texas at Austin Closed-cell hyperelastic elements with mechanical instabilities and structural negative stiffness

2nd Place

Alyssa T. Liem, Boston University (returning as THIRD TIME finalist!)
Characterizing hysteretic materials in complex systems from vibration measurements

Thank you to Ben Shafer, with help from several other SAVTC folks, for organizing the student and young presenter paper awards in New Orleans (19 contestants!!).

- 175th Meeting, Minneapolis, Minnesota, 7-11 May, 2018
 Peggy Nelson and Bruce Olson, Co-Chairs, Andrew Oxenham, Technical Program Chair
 - a. 43 SAV papers total: 16 invited, 27 contributed
 - Thank you to the following SAVTC-related Minneapolis special session organizers:

Brian Anderson, Hubert Hall, Christina Naify, James Phillips, Benjamin Shafer, Scott Sommerfeldt, Alexey Titovich, Kuangcheng Wu.

- Technical Program Organizer: Benjamin Shafer
- Student and young presenter paper awards: Benjamin Shafer
 - There are 11 student and young presenter award contestants at this meeting
 - Please consider assisting Ben at this meeting in (a) providing your own reviews for student papers you are in the audience for as well as (b) potentially distributing/retrieving paper reviews in a given SAVTC session if Ben asks you to.
- b. ASA broadcasting/recording 27 technical sessions (no longer any TC and Admin Meetings) at the Minneapolis (6th meeting now in effect)
 - One SAV special session proposed for streaming and made the final list!!
 - Tuesday afternoon's "Improving Education in Structural Acoustics and Vibration" (2pSA)
 - Recordings available for two weeks to those who register
 - Live streaming no longer tied to specific meeting rooms
 - o Virtually no impact now on TPOM related planning
- c. Women in Acoustics Luncheon
 - Held Wednesday, 9 May at 11:30 AM (Regency Room)
 - Open to all attendees, \$30 per ticket (students \$15 per ticket).
 - •
- d. Society Luncheon and Lecture
 - Sponsored by College of Fellows
 - Held Thursday, 10 May at 12:00 noon (Regency Room)
 - Program presented by members of Cantus (lauded as premier men's vocal ensemble in US)
 - Open to all attendees, \$30 per ticket.
- 6. 176th Meeting, Joint ASA/CAA meeting in Victoria, British Columbia, Canada, 5-9 November 2018

Stan Dosso, Chair

a. **Final** Special Sessions:

Finalized in New Orleans.

- Metamaterials: Chairs, Christina Naify and Alexey Titovich
- Advances in thermoacoustics: Chairs, Matthew Kamrath and Robert Koch
- History of computational methods in structural acoustics and vibration: Chairs, James Phillips, Benjamin Shafer, and John Fahnline
- Utilization of high-speed cameras to measure vibration: Chairs, Micah Shepherd and Trevor Jerome
- Advanced modeling techniques for computational acoustics: Chairs, Kuangcheng Wu, Elizabeth Magliula, and James Phillips

- b. Student and young presenter paper awards: Benjamin Shafer
- c. TPO: Benjamin Shafer
- 7. 177th Meeting, Louisville, Kentucky, 13-17 May 2019 Pavel Zahorik, Chair
 - a. **Finalize** Special Sessions:

Must be finalized in Minneapolis.

- Acoustic metamaterials: Chairs, Christina Naify and Alexey Titovich
- Noise and vibration in rotating machinery: Chairs, Robert Koch and Elizabeth Magliula
- Novel damping treatments: Chairs, Ben Shafer, Ben Beck, and Hubert Hall
- Smart materials for acoustics and vibration: Chair, Katie Matlack
- Vibration reduction for extraordinarily sensitive applications: Chairs, James Phillips and Mohammed Afrough
- b. Technical Program Organizer: Benjamin Shafer
- c. Student and young presenter paper awards: Benjamin Shafer
- 8. 178th Meeting, San Diego, California, 30 November 4 December 2019 Chair: ?
 - a. **Preliminary** Special Sessions:

SAVTC must set Preliminary Special Sessions in Minneapolis. Sessions must be finalized in Victoria, November 2018.

- Acoustic metamaterials: Chairs, Christina Naify and Alexey Titovich
- Flow-induced vibration and noise: Chairs, Kuangcheng Wu and Robert Koch
- XXX Chair(s):
- XXX Chair(s):
- XXX Chair(s):

Previously Brainstormed Special Session Topic Ideas:

- Applications of smart materials for acoustics and vibration (or something similar)?
- Site Characterization
- NDE (theoretical) /Civil Infrastructure (application) (Jinying Zhu)
- Digital Image Correlation (3D displacement, transient data gathering,...) (Greg McDaniel)
- History of a specific SAV technical area
- Thermoacoustic technology
- Vibration absorber technology
- Advances in SAV sensing and/or actuation
- Nanotechnology in SAV
- Novel damping treatments again
- Real-world case studies again
- SAV testing, in some respect
- others?
- b. TPO: Benjamin Shafer
- c. Student and young presenter paper awards: Benjamin Shafer
- 9. Future meetings:

179th Meeting, Chicago, Illinois, 11-15 May 2020

180th Meeting, Cancun, Mexico, 9-13 November 2020

181st Meeting, Still TBD, Spring 2021

182nd Meeting, Sydney, Australia, Fall 2021

Reports

- 10. Topics from the Technical Council Meeting:
 - JASA Editor-In-Chief (EIC) Report
 - ASA Strategic Leadership for the Future
- 11. Report from Student Council: Tyler "TJ" Flynn
- 12. Report from Medals and Awards Committee: James Phillips
- 13. Report from Membership Committee: Robert Koch
 - Still would like to find new Fellow rep
 - Robert Koch serving as official SAVTC Membership rep until replacement named
- 14. Report from ASACOS: Robert Koch
- 15. Report from SAVTC Liaison to the Education in Acoustics TC: Matthew Kamrath

- 16. Report on SAVTC webpage update Brian Anderson
 - Recall no SAVTC Web Maintenance Technical Initiative submitted for 2018-19
- 17. Technical Initiatives for 2018-19
 - Robert Koch submitted a \$1,500 Technical Initiative for the May 2018 Minneapolis meeting 'to support the funding of invited speakers to ship equipment for the SAVTC "Improving Education in SAV" Special Session.'
 - Others?
- 18. Robert Koch presenting two SAVTC-related papers at ASA Minneapolis:
 - 1pID Student Council session: "Introduction to the SAV Technical Committee"
 - 3pID Tutorials session: "Hot Topics in SAV" (concentrates on SAV advanced Physics-Based Modeling (PBM) and novel materials in SAV)
- 19. Congratulations to the following new appointments to SAVTC members for 2018-2021 term:

Kathryn 'Katie' Matlack (kmatlack@illinois.edu)
 Alexey Titovich (alexey.titovich@navy.mil)
 Pei-Tai Chen (ptchen@ntou.edu.tw or ptchen@mail.ntou.edu.tw)

• Anthony Bonomo (Anthony.bonomo@gmail.com)

Please see/contact Robert Koch if:

- You are an SAVTC member whose term expires in 2019 and you do not wish to be reappointed as a SAVTC member, or
- You wish to become an SAVTC member (highly encouraged!)
- 20. Election for new SAVTC Chair for the 2018-2021 term occurred February-March 2018 (ASA distributed ballots). Robert Koch will serve as chair for his second term (2018-2021).
 - Update: Our own Brian Anderson has also been elected as the new Chair for the Signal Processing Technical Committee (TCSP). Congratulations to him as well!
- 21. New Business
- 22. Adjourn